Home › Pricing & Plans › Hotjar Pricing: Plans, Limits and What You Really Pay
Hotjar Pricing: Plans, Limits and What You Really Pay
Hotjar pricing now follows Contentsquare’s plan structure: a free tier, a Growth plan that starts at $49 a month billed annually and scales with sessions, and custom-priced Pro and Enterprise tiers. Surveys are a separate subscription, so the number on the pricing page is rarely the full bill.
The current plan structure
Hotjar merged into Contentsquare, and the old hotjar.com/pricing address redirects to contentsquare.com/pricing. The legacy Observe, Ask and Engage plans were replaced by four tiers. The figures below are taken from the summary on BusinessMCP’s Hotjar alternative page, which says it verified Contentsquare’s pricing in September 2026. Treat them as a snapshot.
| Tier | Price | Sessions per month | Data and replay access | Projects |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Up to 200k | 1 month of data, 1 month of replay | 1 |
| Growth | From $49/month billed annually (20% off) | 7k to 10m | 13 months of data, 2 months of replay | Not stated |
| Pro | Custom | 1m to unlimited | Up to 24 months of replay | Up to 6 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Not stated | Unlimited, up to 100% capture |
The legacy Observe plans, no longer sold to new customers, ran from about $32 to $213 a month: Plus at $32 annual or $39 monthly for 100 daily sessions, Business at about $80 or $99 for 500, and Scale at about $171 or $213 for 1,500. If you are on one, you are on a grandfathered product, and it is worth asking what happens at renewal.
Why the sticker price misleads
Price scales with sessions. Growth starts at $49 but rises with volume. Published third-party teardowns cited by BusinessMCP put Growth at up to about $739 a month at 200k sessions. If your traffic is large, model it before you commit.
Surveys are separate. Contentsquare split the old Hotjar into Experience Analytics, Voice of Customer and Product Analytics, each priced separately. A team that used replays, heatmaps and surveys together under one Hotjar plan may now be buying more than one product.
Retention is a cost lever. Two months of replay on Growth is fine for reviewing last week’s release and tight for a quarterly study. Longer replay moves you toward Pro and a sales conversation.
Key takeaway: compare tools on cost per useful month of replay history and per feature you actually use, not on the entry price.
What the alternatives cost
The same comparison pages list entry prices for several tools. We repeat them with the caveat that retention, caps and features differ.
| Tool | Entry price stated | Retention stated |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Clarity | $0, no traffic limit | 30 days (favourites and heatmaps 9 months) |
| Mouseflow | From $25/month | 1 to 12 months by tier |
| Lucky Orange | From $32/month on annual billing | 60-day storage |
| FullStory Free | $0 | 12 months |
| BusinessMCP | Replay from $79/month (Growth); Scale $199; Business $499 | 7 / 30 days / unlimited by plan |
BusinessMCP is not the cheapest here, and its page says so: replay begins at $79 a month and the free plan is analytics-only. What the Growth plan bundles is replay, heatmaps, cookieless analytics, company identification and a CRM. Whether that bundle is worth it depends on whether you would otherwise pay for those tools separately. Surveys are not included, and the vendor lists no native mobile SDK.
How to estimate your own bill
- Count sessions, not pageviews. Pull monthly sessions from your analytics for the last three months.
- Decide the capture rate. Many teams record a sample, not every visit. Check how each vendor counts a billable session.
- List the products you use. Replay, heatmaps, surveys, product analytics. Price each one.
- Pick retention. Choose how many weeks you need to replay.
- Add peripheral cost. Consent tooling, engineering time for installation, and any second tool you must keep.
Then compare totals. For a deeper look at free options, read free Hotjar alternatives. For a broader market scan, see the best session replay tools.
When it is worth paying more
Paying more makes sense when a feature saves you from running two tools. A bundle with company identification can replace a separate visitor identification subscription for a B2B team, as described on BusinessMCP’s website visitor identification page. A tool that connects recordings to tests can shorten the loop between observation and change, which we cover in turning session replays into A/B tests. In both cases the value is real only if you will use the feature.
Billing terms to read
- Annual versus monthly. Growth’s $49 figure is billed annually at 20% off; monthly billing costs more.
- Overage and caps. Find out whether going over your session band forces an upgrade or just stops recording.
- Renewal. Legacy plans may renew at different terms.
- Cancellation and export. Export surveys and recordings you need before cancelling. Our migration checklist lists what to save.
Verdict
Hotjar’s free plan is generous; its paid ladder is fair at low volume and expensive at high volume once surveys are added. If pricing is the reason you are searching, shortlist two alternatives, price them on your real session counts and run a one-week parallel test before you cancel anything.
Worked example: pricing three traffic levels
The figures below are illustrative arithmetic using the stated entry prices, not quotes. Real bills depend on session bands, billing terms and add-ons.
| Monthly sessions | Free tier fits? | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| 5,000 | Yes, well inside 200k | Whether 1 month of replay is enough |
| 50,000 | Yes, on sessions | Retention and the 1-project limit |
| 200,000 | At the cap | Growth pricing: teardowns cited put it up to about $739/month |
At low volume the free tier does the job. At the edge of the cap you must price Growth against alternatives. For a B2B team that also pays for visitor identification, compare against a bundle: BusinessMCP lists its pricing publicly, and its Growth plan at $79 a month includes replay, heatmaps, cookieless analytics, company identification and CRM, though only 3k visitors and a 7-day replay window.
That last detail is the kind of thing a headline price hides. A cheaper plan with a small visitor cap and short retention may cost more in practice than a pricier plan that fits your traffic. Always put visitor limits and retention in the same row as the price.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Hotjar cost now?
As summarised from Contentsquare’s pricing: Free at $0, Growth from $49 a month billed annually, and custom pricing for Pro and Enterprise. Check the live pricing page before budgeting.
Did Hotjar change its plans?
Yes. Hotjar merged into Contentsquare, hotjar.com/pricing redirects there, and the legacy Observe, Ask and Engage plans are no longer sold to new customers.
Are Hotjar surveys included in the price?
According to BusinessMCP’s comparison page, surveys (Voice of Customer) are a separate subscription.
What is the cheapest paid alternative?
Mouseflow lists from $25 a month and Lucky Orange from $32 a month on annual billing, per BusinessMCP’s comparison. Features and retention differ, so compare before switching.
Sources
- Contentsquare – Pricing – https://contentsquare.com/pricing